Week[11]: Finale, Future and Farewell!

August 19, 2008 at 09:37 | Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment
Tags:

(Sorry for the tardiness of this report – i have been having problems connecting to the wordpress servers.)

Finale
This past week i have added a ton of comments and finished the online documentation. Since i bought a new laptop last week, I was very eager to get the OSs installed and running as quickly as possible. I created 3 100Gb partitions – one for Windows Vista, One for Linux, and a shared partition. It only took about 2 hours to get both OSs installed and updated!

Vista
Well, I _tried_ to test on Vista, but ran into problems installing CPANPLUS via Strawberry Perl. I guess I needed more time to figure out Strawberry’s inner sanctum. I plan on having it working on Strawberry by the end of next month, if not sooner. I have had too many problems with Vista, but continue trudging along, because i am using it only for a couple of games (Gothic 3 and Portal) and for cross-platform testing and development.

Fedora 9
I love Fedora, and have been using it since FC1 was in beta. (Before that, I used RedHat, since 5.0.) When testing wxCPAN on Fedora 9, I ran into quite a few bugs that seem to be related to the updated versions of Wx-Perl and CPANPLUS. The search method freezes right in the middle. This didn’t happen on Fedora 7, my last system, with CPANPLUS 0.78 and Wx 0.77. I hope to resolve this issue as soon as possible.

Future
I plan on moving the PODReader into its own module, probably Wx::PODReader. I have added quite a bit of documentation to wxCPAN, to aid future development, possibly by others. I plan on continuing development until CPAN becomes obsolete. I would also like to test wxCPAN on the parrot platform. I hear Strawberry Perl is looking for such a tool as wxCPAN, and would like to contribute to Strawberry, if time allows. Since I am a student, i won’t have much time, but I love to code, and do so frequently. This project has given me a long-standing goal, and I love long-standing goals.

Farewell
Well – it’s been a great trip! I have had a lot of fun. I could not have done it without the support of my mentor Herbert, Eric, my wife Sarah, and the entire Perl community. Thank you all!

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. You have a nice blog with good and bad experience. It proves that every technology have its own advantage and disadvantage.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

