Week[2] Report: Preferences and Logging!

June 14, 2008 at 20:37 | Posted in Perl, Summer of Code | Leave a comment
Tags:

This past week I have been working on finishing up the last few subclasses for the Preferences dialog, which is an interface to CPANPLUS::Configure. Everything seems to be in working order! The $config->get_conf(‘hosts’) interface was the biggest pain, as I had to parse the contents of the MIRRORS.txt file (see previous post). I put in quite a bit of time optimizing this function.

During all of this writingtesting recursion, I noticed quite a bit of print() statements were being used. This meant I had to run the program, test it, then switch back to the console to see output. Since I have been using the wxPerl demo to see available options, I noticed Wx’s LogXXX functions. So I wondered how difficult it would be to implement a logging facility for wxCPAN. It took very little time to implemet, but quite a bit to find a facility that actually worked! I settled on adding a tab in the main window to display log messages. Right now, the tab is visible, but when I implement the toolbar, the tabs will not be visible.

Next week: Displaying installed modules!

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.